Skip to main content
Pouring wine at an Oregon vineyard tasting
View more

Oregon Drinking & Smoking

Jenny Hill

Official Travel Information

Drinking Alcohol

The legal drinking age in the United States is 21. Servers are required to ask for identification of those who appear to be younger than 21 years. To prove you are 21 or older, you must show government-issued identification such as a driver’s license or passport. You will not be served alcohol without the original valid ID (no photocopies). Even if you are not ordering alcohol, many bars and clubs will deny access to anyone under the age of 21.


Smoking in restaurants and public places is becoming increasingly restricted in the United States. The Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act (ICAA), also known as the Smokefree Workplace Law, prohibits smoking in the workplace and within 10 feet of all entrances, exits, accessibility ramps that lead to and from an entrance or exit, windows and air-intake vents.

The ICAA includes the use of "inhalant delivery systems." Inhalant delivery systems are devices that can be used to deliver nicotine, cannabinoids and other substances, in the form of a vapor or aerosol. These include e-cigarettes, vape pens, e-hookah and other devices. Under the law, individuals may not use e-cigarettes and other inhalant delivery systems in workplaces, restaurants, bars and other indoor public places in Oregon.

Smoking also is prohibited on public transportation, including airplanes, buses and trains. This ban also includes airports, bus terminals and train stations. Each state and local municipality has its own law, so please check before smoking.

The legal age for purchasing cigarettes is 18 in most states. Oregon and Hawaii are the first states to increase the legal age for purchasing tobacco products to 21.