Skip to main content

S'étendant sur un peu plus de 20 kilomètres de long et trois kilomètres de large, l'île possède deux réserves naturelles. Situées aux extrémités nord et sud, celles-ci occupent près de 10 % de la superficie totale de l'île. Ceinturée par l'océan Atlantique, l'Intracoastal Waterway (la voie navigable côtière), Nassau Sound (le bras de mer Nassau) et Cumberland Sound (l'un des bras de mer les plus larges et les plus profonds de la côte est), Amelia Island est bordée de plages naturelles constituées de quartz des Appalaches et de dunes pouvant atteindre 12 mètres de haut.

Classée en 2014 parmi les dix plus belles îles des États-Unis par la revue USA Today Travel, Amelia Island est prisée pour ses immenses plages paisibles, sa beauté naturelle, son histoire unique et son charme portuaire. Des complexes touristiques haut de gamme aux charmantes chambres d'hôtes, en passant par des hôtels confortables à prix avantageux, tous les types de logements sont représentés sur Amelia Island. Avec plus de 20 établissements et plus de 2 500 chambres, vous pourrez même choisir votre hébergement en fonction de son emplacement : directement face à l'océan Atlantique, à quelques pas du quartier historique ou à un autre endroit avantageux.

Une multitude d'activités séduisantes attendent les vacanciers, qui n'auront aucun mal à occuper leurs journées sur Amelia Island. Au programme : promenade intimiste en calèche dans le quartier historique de Fernandina Beach (la plage Fernandina) ou croisière à bord d'un voilier sur l'Intracoastal Waterway, au coucher du soleil. Les enfants adoreront visiter Fort Clinch State Park (le parc d'État de Fort Clinch), qui abrite l'un des forts du XIXe siècle les mieux conservés du pays ainsi que des sites de baignade, de pêche et de camping et un sentier de 9,5 kilomètres permettant d'admirer les plus hautes dunes de Floride.

Les amoureux de la nature pourront admirer les merveilles naturelles de l'île en la visitant en gyropode, ou faire une excursion en kayak ou en planche à rame pour aller à la rencontre d'aigrettes, de hérons, de tortues marines, de lamantins et d'autres créatures sauvages extraordinaires.

Les passionnés d'aventures pourront s'adonner au saut en parachute avec SkyDive Amelia pour jouir d'une vue imprenable sur l'île. Si vous voulez profiter de la vue aérienne sans pour autant vous jeter d'un avion, optez pour un tour en aéronef ultraléger motorisé avec Air Amelia.

Amelia Island est une petite île riche d'une grande histoire. Découvrez ce passé à l'Amelia Island Museum of History (le musée d'histoire d'Amelia Island), le premier musée d'histoire orale de Floride. Vous remonterez le temps en compagnie de guides chevronnés pour explorer plus de quatre siècles d'histoire et découvrir la vie sur cette île, gouvernée successivement par huit nations différentes. Autre visite intéressante : l'American Beach Museum (le musée de la plage American Beach), qui retrace l'histoire de la plage où les Afro-américains sont venus trouver refuge pendant la ségrégation pour échapper aux lois Jim Crow.

Flânez donc dans Center Street, un quartier historique de Fernandina qui regorge de restaurants et de boutiques uniques en leur genre. Pour découvrir le charme pittoresque de l'île, faites une croisière en bateau ou une excursion en motomarine sur l'Amelia River (la rivière Amelia). Ou partez pêcher en bateau en compagnie d'un guide. Quel que soit votre programme, vous vivrez des moments inoubliables sur Amelia Island.

Le saviez-vous ?

Amelia Island Lighthouse
En savoir plus

Amelia Island abrite le plus vieux phare de Floride : il a été construit en 1838.

Interactive history at Fort Clinch State Park in Amelia Island, Florida
En savoir plus

Fort Clinch served as a base for both Confederate and Union soldiers during the American Civil War.

Photo: Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

Événements à venir

Strolling the streets with pirates during the Isle of Eight Flags Shrimp Festival in Amelia Island, Florida
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau
Jazz trio performing during the Amelia Island Jazz Festival
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

Événement

Amelia Island Jazz Festival

October

Beachfront yoga during the Amelia Island Wellness Festival
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

Événement

Amelia Island Wellness Festival

November

Competing during the Pétanque Amelia Island Open
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

Événement

Pétanque Amelia Island Open

November

Touring historic and elegant homes during the Amelia Island Museum of History Holiday Home Tour
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau
Victorian themed costumes during Amelia Island’s Dickens on Centre festival
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

Événement

Dickens on Centre

December

Seashells and books in Amelia Island, Florida
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

Événement

Amelia Island Book Festival

February

Yo-Yo Ma and Christopher Rex performing in Amelia Island, Florida
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

Événement

Amelia Island Chamber Music Festival

February-April

Concours d’Elegance car show in Amelia Island, Florida
En savoir plus
Amelia Island Convention & Visitors Bureau

Événement

Concours Week

March

Site de tourisme officiel d'Amelia Island

Explorer plus
Fernandina Beach et sa jetée Amelia by the Sea au lever du soleil

Destination

Amelia Island

Tour en voilier à Charlotte Harbor, un jour de janvier

Destination

Charlotte Harbor

Skip to main content

Just over 20 kilometers long and three kilometers wide, the northern and southern tips of the island are park preserves, which make up nearly 10 percent of the entire island. Surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, the Intracoastal Waterway, Nassau Sound and one of the east’s largest and deepest inlets – Cumberland Sound – Amelia Island is edged with natural Appalachian quartz beaches and framed by sand dunes as high as 12 meters.

Named one of the Top 10 U.S. Islands by USA Today Travel in 2014, Amelia Island is treasured for its long, quiet beaches, natural beauty, unique history and seaport. From upscale resorts and charming bed-and-breakfasts, to comfortable hotels at value rates, Amelia Island offers accommodation options for everyone. With more than 20 places to stay and over 2,500 rooms, visitors are able to choose properties directly along the Atlantic Ocean, within walking distance of the historic district and in other convenient locations.

Visitors to Amelia Island find themselves surrounded by a welcoming sea of activities with plenty of ways to fill the days. Guests can settle in for a cozy, horse-drawn carriage ride through historic downtown Fernandina Beach or cast off on a sunset sail on the Intracoastal Waterway. Children will enjoy a trip to Fort Clinch State Park, offering one of the most well-preserved 19th century forts in the country with swimming, fishing, camping and a 9.5-kilometer trail where you can see the largest sand dunes in Florida.

Nature lovers can appreciate the island’s natural wonders during a Segway tour or enjoy a kayak or stand-up paddleboarding trip to encounter extraordinary wildlife, including egrets, herons, sea turtles and manatees.

Adventure seekers will love SkyDive Amelia offering free-fall and parachuting views. Those looking for an aerial view without the free fall can enjoy a trike flying tour with Air Amelia.

Amelia Island is a little island with a big history, which guests can discover for themselves at the Amelia Island Museum of History, Florida’s first spoken-history museum. Knowledgeable guides lead you back in time to explore events spanning more than four centuries and life on the island under the rule of eight different flags. Visitors can also visit the American Beach Museum for a glimpse into the history of American Beach, a glorious oceanfront haven for African-Americans during the Jim Crow-era of segregation.

Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll along Fernandina’s historic Centre Street, complete with unique shops and restaurants. For a picturesque tour of the island, try a boat cruise or personal watercraft tour of the Amelia River. Fishing guides and charters are also available. Whatever you choose to do, you'll make memories on Amelia Island.

Fun Fact

Amelia Island Lighthouse
View more

Amelia Island is home to the oldest lighthouse in Florida; it was built in 1838.

Hot Air Balloon over Asheville, North Carolina
View more

Nearby Experiences

View more experiences

Explore more

Early 1900s architecture at the McFaddin-Ward House
View more

Destination

Beaumont

Denver Union Station at dusk
View more

Destination

Denver

Sunset over the Mississippi River from the Spirit of Peoria riverboat
View more

Destination

Alton

Stunning skies over Hetch Hetchy Resevoir
View more

Destination

Tuolumne

The Buffalo skyline
View more

Destination

Buffalo