USA Radio
Oklahoma

Culture Cowboy d'Oklahoma

Passez du temps avec de vrais cowboys


Quand les bouviers et les cow-boys viennent à Oklahoma City, ils se dirigent directement vers la rue principale des parcs à bestiaux de la ville, un quartier de vente au détail en plein centre de la ville, plein à craquer de selleries et de boutiques de vêtements de l’Ouest. Il se trouve juste à côté du parc à bestiaux national d’Oklahoma, le plus grand marché bovin/d’engraissement du monde où vous pouvez assister à la mise aux enchères du bétail tous les lundis et mardis.

Une fois tous les négoces terminés, chacun se dirige vers le restaurant Cattlemen, la grilladerie parfaite de l’ouest et le restaurant le plus animé de l’état. La coupe la plus populaire est le faux-filet, rapidement grillé sur le charbon chaud et servi dans un jus salé (sauce) avec des petits pains maisons « Parker House ». Le café d’origine datant de 1910 est populaire pour son petit déjeuner, mais la clientèle du dîner préfère la salle à manger du Sud décorée dans un style années 1960. Choisissez un compartiment en vinyle rouge et profitez du panorama mural rétroéclairé de deux éleveurs formant un troupeau de Black Angus. L’un d’eux, Gene Wade, a remporté cet endroit lors d’une partie de craps en 1945 et l’a dirigé jusqu'en 1990.

L’Ouest de la vieille époque reprend vie au National Cowboy Western Heritage Museum (musée national de l’héritage des cowboys de l’Ouest). La galerie dédiée aux cow-boys américains suit l’évolution du cowboy au travail en Amérique et propose une belle collection permanente d’artistes de l’Ouest, en particulier Charles M. Russell et Frederic Remington. En mai, pendant la fin de semaine du Jour du Souvenir, les personnes travaillant dans les ranchs se débrouillent pour préparer des repas de cowboys à l’occasion du festival annuel du Chuck Wagon Gathering and Children’s Cowboy.

L’Oklahoma regroupe 39 tribus amérindiennes. Visitez en juin afin d'assister à un des pow-wow qui ont lieu ici ou pour le festival annuel de trois jours Red Earth Native American Cultural. Plus de 1 200 artistes et danseurs amérindiens appartenant à plus de 100 tribus viennent de partout dans le pays (ainsi que du Canada) pour participer à des compétitions de danse de cérémonies, à des défilés en tenues traditionnelles, ainsi qu’à un marché où il est aussi amusant de flâner que d’acheter.

Lieu de mémoire inégalé pour tout ce qu’il y a de mieux en ce qui concerne l’Ouest de la vieille époque, le musée Gilcrease à Tulsa est l’héritage durable d’un indien un-huitième Creek qui devint riche lorsque de la découverte de pétrole sur sa parcelle de terre de 64,7 hectares située à 32 km au sud de Tulsa. Thomas Gilcrease a démarré sa propre compagnie pétrolière en 1922 et dépensé ses bénéfices pour accumuler le plus grand choix au monde en termes d’art, d’objets et d’archives consacrés à l’Ouest américain. (Si vous comptez le moindre bout de flèche ou morceau de poterie, le trésor de Gilcrease s’élève à 327 000 pièces.)

En achetant de l’art de l’Ouest à une époque où peu de personnes étaient intéressées, Gilcrease a rapidement constitué une collection d’importance. La profondeur et l’étendue du goût de Gilcrease ont cependant dépassé sa capacité à payer lorsque le prix du pétrole a rapidement chuté dans les années 1950. Plutôt que de vendre une seule pièce, il céda les actes de propriété de l’intégralité de sa collection à la ville de Tulsa, laquelle a approuvé une obligation émise pour couvrir ses dettes d’un montant de 2,25 millions de dollars (1,45 million de livres). Gilcrease a versé ses revenus pétroliers pour l’entretien du musée jusqu’à ce que l’obligation ait été repayée; il est mort, sans aucune dette, en 1962.

Cette idée de voyage est disponible dans :

1,000 Places to See in the United States & Canada Before You Die©

Pour des renseignements complets sur les endroits dont il est question ici, ainsi que pour plusieurs autres suggestions de voyages aux É.-U., consulter le livre sensation de Patricia Schultz.

Bienvenue sur le site Découvrez les États-Unis!

Maintenant que vous êtes inscrit, vous pouvez enregistrer des idées de voyages dans votre valise.

Lancer l’exploration

Saisissez votre adresse de courriel et nous vous enverrons un lien pour réinitialiser votre mot de passe.

Consultez votre boîte de courriel.

Lancer l’exploration

Le mot de passe de votre compte a été modifié. Utilisez votre nouveau mot de passe pour vous connecter.

Lancer l’exploration

This website is set to 'allow all cookies' for the best user experience. By continuing without changing this setting, you are consenting to this. You may change your settings at any time at the bottom of this page.

More information about cookies

Cookies are very small text files that are stored on your computer when you visit some websites.

We use cookies to make our website easier for you to use. You can remove any cookies already stored on your computer, but these may prevent you from using parts of our website.

If you choose to disable non-essential cookies, the website will:

  • Allow you to log in and remember you are logged in, while in session
  • Determine your country of origin in order to serve you the most relevant version of the site

This website will not:

  • Restrict welcome messaging to the first time you visit the site
  • Track any activity on the site for analytics purposes

More information about cookies

This website uses Cookies to offer you an enhanced browsing experience. Find out more about how we use Cookies.

x
OK
USA Radio
Oklahoma

Oklahoma Cowboy Culture

Hang out with real-life cowboys


When cattlemen and cowboys come to Oklahoma City, they head straight for Stockyards City Main Street, a retail district right in the middle of town and chock-full of saddleries and Western-wear clothing stores. It’s right next to the Oklahoma National Stockyards, the world’s largest stocker/feeder market, where every Monday and Tuesday you can watch live cattle being auctioned.

With their business dealings done, everyone heads for Cattlemen’s Restaurant, the consummate Western steak house and the state’s busiest restaurant. The most popular cut is rib eye, quickly broiled (read grilled) over hot charcoal and served in a salty jus (sauce) with home-made Parker House rolls. The original 1910 café is popular for breakfast, but the dinner crowd likes the 1960s-era South Dining Room. Settle into a red vinyl booth and enjoy the backlit wall-size panorama of two ranchers herding Black Angus. One of them is Gene Wade, who won the place in a craps game in 1945 and ran it until 1990.

The Old West comes alive at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum. The American Cowboy Gallery follows the evolution of the working cowboy in America, and there’s a good permanent collection of Western artists, particularly Charles M. Russell and Frederic Remington. On Memorial Day weekend in May, ranch hands rustle up cowboy food at the museum’s annual Chuck Wagon Gathering & Children’s Cowboy Festival.

Oklahoma is home to 39 Native American tribes. Visit in June for any of the powwows that take place here or for the annual three-day Red Earth Native American Cultural Festival. More than 1,200 Native American artists and dancers from more than 100 tribes come from across the nation (and Canada) to participate in ceremonial dance competitions, parades in full traditional dress and a marketplace where it is as much fun to browse as it is to buy.

An unsurpassed repository for the best of the Old West, the Gilcrease Museum in Tulsa is the lasting legacy of a one-eighth Creek Indian, who struck it rich when oil was found on his 160-acre allotment 20 miles south of Tulsa. Thomas Gilcrease started his own oil company in 1922 and spent his profits gleefully amassing the world’s largest selection of fine art, artifacts and archives devoted to the American West. (Some 327,000 items make up the Gilcrease treasure, if you count every last arrowhead and piece of pottery.)

Buying great Western art at a time when few others were interested, Gilcrease quickly built a major collection. The depth and breadth of Gilcrease’s taste outstripped his ability to pay, however, when the price of oil declined precipitously in the 1950s. Rather than sell off a single piece, he handed over the deeds for the entire collection to the city of Tulsa, which approved a $2.25 million (£1.45 million) bond issue to cover his debts. Gilcrease put his oil revenue towards museum maintenance until the bond was repaid; he died, debt-free, in 1962.

This trip idea can be found in:

1,000 Places to See in the United States & Canada Before You Die®

Trip idea text ©Patricia Schultz. For contact information about the places mentioned and many more USA trip ideas, see Patricia Schultz's blockbuster book.

Welcome to Visit The USA!

Now that you have registered, you can save trip ideas to your suitcase.

Start exploring

Enter your email address and we’ll send you a link to reset your password.

Please check your email.

Start exploring

The password on your account has successfully been changed. Please use your new password to login.

Start exploring

This website is set to 'allow all cookies' for the best user experience. By continuing without changing this setting, you are consenting to this. You may change your settings at any time at the bottom of this page.

More information about cookies

Cookies are very small text files that are stored on your computer when you visit some websites.

We use cookies to make our website easier for you to use. You can remove any cookies already stored on your computer, but these may prevent you from using parts of our website.

If you choose to disable non-essential cookies, the website will:

  • Allow you to log in and remember you are logged in, while in session
  • Determine your country of origin in order to serve you the most relevant version of the site

This website will not:

  • Restrict welcome messaging to the first time you visit the site
  • Track any activity on the site for analytics purposes

More information about cookies