Ce site Web utilise des témoins pour vous offrir une meilleure expérience de navigation. En savoir plus sur l’utilisation des témoins.

x
OK
USA Radio
Columbia County, Floride

Suwannee River Valley : découvrir « l’autre côté » de la Floride

Par Heike Bachmann


Saviez-vous qu’il existe une région loin des plages et des parcs d’attractions de la Floride où se trouvent des paysages naturels intacts et la plus grande concentration de sources d’eau douce au monde? Combinez le tout à une culture riche et à des festivals amusants et vous vous retrouverez à Suwannee River Valley, une région située au nord de l’État du soleil. J’ai récemment visité ce trésor caché et je suis immédiatement tombée amoureuse de cet « autre côté » de la Floride!

Descente en chambre à air dans la nature sauvage de la rivière Ichetucknee

Si vous avez le temps de faire seulement une activité, louez une chambre à air et descendez l’Ichetucknee, une rivière pittoresque alimentée par une source d’eau douce en amont si magnifique et si rare qu’elle a été classée site naturel national en 1972. La raison est simple : lorsqu’on admire l’eau cristalline de la rivière Ichetucknee pour la première fois, tout ce que l’on veut est d’y plonger. Heureusement, c’est possible! Je vous recommande toutefois de la parcourir en chambre à air afin d’observer l’incroyable faune qui vit dans les milieux humides envoûtants et les boisements naturels ombragés d’Ichetucknee. Vous pouvez facilement louer des chambres à air à des commerçants privés à l’extérieur du parc.

Explorer Suwannee sur le sentier Wilderness Trail

Le cœur de cette région est la populaire Suwannee, la dernière rivière sauvage de la Floride. Le spectaculaire sentier Suwannee River Wilderness Trail est accessible à partir du parc Suwannee River State Park. Vous pouvez explorer la rivière Suwannee et le parc d’État à pied ou à la rame grâce à une vaste sélection de sentiers. Mon rêve est de revenir et de prendre part à une excursion de plusieurs jours afin de séjourner dans les camps de rivière uniques, qui ne sont accessibles que par bateau ou par les sentiers de randonnée. Ces camps possèdent des douches avec eau chaude et des toilettes, et vous permettent de vivre une nuit au bord de la rivière Suwannee en dormant sur des plateformes surélevées munies de moustiquaires.

Parc Stephen Foster Folk Culture Center State Park

Lorsque j’ai appris à ma famille que j’allais à la rivière Suwannee, ma mère a immédiatement commencé à chanter : « Way down upon the Suwannee River... » Bien que la mélodie et les paroles de cette chanson américaine soient connues un peu partout dans le monde, peu de gens savent qu’elles proviennent de l’hymne de la Floride, « Old Folks at Home », composé par Stephen Foster. On rend hommage à ce « père de la musique américaine » au Stephen Foster Folk Culture Center State Park, à White Springs. Dans ce charmant musée, vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur les populaires chansons de Stephen Foster et les entendre sonner de la tour à 97 cloches, qui abrite le plus grand instrument à cloches tubulaires au monde!

J’ai aimé me promener sur les sentiers pittoresques et visiter le Craft Square, où les forgerons, les artisans verriers et autres artisans de la région viennent montrer leurs talents. Lors de mon prochain voyage, j’aimerais assister au Florida Folk Festival, qui se déroule chaque année la dernière fin de semaine de mai.

Groupes sensationnels au Wanee Music Festival

Chaque mois d’avril, des amateurs de musique des quatre coins du monde viennent assister au Wanee Music Festival, qui a lieu au parc Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park, à Live Oak. Toujours animé par les Allman Brothers, le festival présente plus de 40 groupes sur différentes scènes durant trois jours. Que ce soit pour ses vendeurs colorés, ses milliers d’amateurs enjoués, ses beaux terrains de camping ou ses kiosques de nourriture, cet événement est assurément une expérience inoubliable. Une douzaine d’autres grands festivals de musique ont également lieu dans ce parc tout au long de l’année... au cas où votre visite ne coïnciderait pas avec Wanee.

Lorsque je repense à mon voyage à Suwannee River Valley, en Floride, j’ai de la difficulté à dire ce que j’ai le plus aimé : explorer les paysages naturels intacts, en apprendre plus sur la culture de la Floride ou profiter de l’ambiance décontractée à Wanee. Je sais, par contre, que la Floride authentique se trouve ici, de « l’autre côté »!

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez visitez:

Official Columbia County Travel Information

Bienvenue sur le site Découvrez les États-Unis!

Maintenant que vous êtes inscrit, vous pouvez enregistrer des idées de voyages dans votre valise.

Lancer l’exploration

Saisissez votre adresse de courriel et nous vous enverrons un lien pour réinitialiser votre mot de passe.

Consultez votre boîte de courriel.

Lancer l’exploration

Le mot de passe de votre compte a été modifié. Utilisez votre nouveau mot de passe pour vous connecter.

Lancer l’exploration

This website is set to 'allow all cookies' for the best user experience. By continuing without changing this setting, you are consenting to this. You may change your settings at any time at the bottom of this page.

More information about cookies

Cookies are very small text files that are stored on your computer when you visit some websites.

We use cookies to make our website easier for you to use. You can remove any cookies already stored on your computer, but these may prevent you from using parts of our website.

If you choose to disable non-essential cookies, the website will:

  • Allow you to log in and remember you are logged in, while in session
  • Determine your country of origin in order to serve you the most relevant version of the site

This website will not:

  • Restrict welcome messaging to the first time you visit the site
  • Track any activity on the site for analytics purposes

More information about cookies

USA Radio
Columbia County, Florida

The Suwannee River Valley: Discovering Florida’s “Other Side”

By Heike Bachmann


Did you know that there is a region far away from Florida’s beaches and theme parks where you can find pristine nature and the highest concentration of freshwater springs in the world? Combine that with a rich culture and fun festivals, and you’ll find yourself in Florida’s Suwannee River Valley, located in the northern part of the Sunshine State. I recently toured this hidden treasure and instantly fell in love with the “other side” of Florida!

Tubing in the Wild on the Ichetucknee River

If you only have time for one thing, rent a tube and float down the Ichetucknee, a scenic river fed by a freshwater head-spring so beautiful and rare it was declared a National Natural Landmark in 1972. And for a good reason: When you see the crystal-clear water of the Ichetucknee for the first time, you’ll want to dive right in. Luckily, you can! My recommendation, however, is to experience it by tube, so you can observe the amazing wildlife which lives in the Ichetucknee’s magical shaded hammocks and wetlands. Tubes can be conveniently rented from private vendors outside the park. 

Exploring the Suwannee on the Wilderness Trail 

The heart of this area is the famous Suwannee, Florida’s last wild river. The spectacular Suwannee River Wilderness Trail is accessible from Suwannee River State Park. You can explore the Suwannee and the state park by paddle or foot, thanks to a broad selection of trails. My dream is to come back and embark on a multi-day excursion, staying overnight at the unique River Camps that are only accessible by boat or hiking trails. These camps feature hot showers and restrooms, but allow you to experience the Suwannee at night, while sleeping on raised, screened platforms. 

Stephen Foster Folk Culture Center State Park

When I told my family that I was on my way to the Suwannee River, my Mom immediately launched into: “Way down upon the Suwannee River….” While the melody and lyrics are known around the world, very few know that it stems from the Florida state anthem, “Old Folks at Home,” composed by Stephen Foster. Also called the “father of American Music,” he is honoured at Stephen Foster Folk Culture Center State Park in White Springs. Here you can learn about Foster’s famous songs in the lovely museum and hear them ringing out from the 97-bell carillon tower, home to the world’s largest tubular bell instrument! 

I enjoyed walking the scenic trails and visiting the Craft Square where locals demonstrate blacksmithing, stained glass making and other historic crafts of the region. On my next trip, I hope to catch the annual Florida Folk Festival, which is held here the last weekend in May each year.

Great Bands at the Wanee Music Festival

Every April, fans from all over the world flock to the Wanee Music Festival held at the Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park in Live Oak. Hosted annually by the Allman Brothers, the festival showcases over 40 bands over three days on different stages. Featuring colourful vendors, thousands of happy fans, great campgrounds and food stands, this event is truly an unforgettable experience. There are also about a dozen other major music festivals held throughout the year in this park – just in case your visit doesn’t coincide with Wanee.

When I think back to my trip to Florida’s Suwannee River Valley, I don’t know what I enjoyed most: exploring the pristine nature, learning about Florida’s culture or enjoying the laidback vibe at Wanee. I do know that the real Florida is here – on its “other side!”

For more information, please visit us:

Official Columbia County Travel Information

Welcome to Visit The USA!

Now that you have registered, you can save trip ideas to your suitcase.

Start exploring

Enter your email address and we’ll send you a link to reset your password.

Please check your email.

Start exploring

The password on your account has successfully been changed. Please use your new password to login.

Start exploring

This website is set to 'allow all cookies' for the best user experience. By continuing without changing this setting, you are consenting to this. You may change your settings at any time at the bottom of this page.

More information about cookies

Cookies are very small text files that are stored on your computer when you visit some websites.

We use cookies to make our website easier for you to use. You can remove any cookies already stored on your computer, but these may prevent you from using parts of our website.

If you choose to disable non-essential cookies, the website will:

  • Allow you to log in and remember you are logged in, while in session
  • Determine your country of origin in order to serve you the most relevant version of the site

This website will not:

  • Restrict welcome messaging to the first time you visit the site
  • Track any activity on the site for analytics purposes

More information about cookies